Cambodia Government

Government of Cambodia

Cambodia is a multiparty democracy under a constitutional monarchy government. The head of the state is His Majesty NorodomĀ  Sihamoni who held the throne since 29th October 2004. The head of government is prime minister Hun Sen who won the election on July 28, 2013.

king and prime minister

king and prime minister

Provinces of Cambodia

There are 24 provinces such as Siem Reap, Pailin, Banteay Meanchey, Battambang, Pursat, Kampong Chhang, Kampong Cham, Kampong Speu, Kampong Thom, Kep, Kampot, Koh Kong, Sihanoukville, Kratie, Mondolkirir, Ratanakiri, Oddar Meanchey, Preah Vihear, Prey Veng, Stung Treng, Svay Rieng, Takeo and Tbong Kmom. Phnom Pehn is the capital city. The structure of local government is very simple. Each province is divided into district. A district is divided in to commune, commune into village. The municipality has the same structure yet they are called in different way. The district is called khan, commune is called Sangkat, village is the same.